!Please Note!

You are using an outdated browser that may impact your experience on FCA.org.
Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer here or download another browser like Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Once you upgrade, this notice will no longer appear.

Award Winners


Branch Rickey Service Award

The FCA Branch Rickey Service Award recognizes those who demonstrate the FCA Values of Integrity, Serving, Teamwork and Excellence. It was initiated in 2017 as a special honor given to local FCA servants for their dedication and commitment to both their community and our sports ministry. These servants exemplify the same heart-felt dedication and genuine commitment of Branch Rickey, who played a key role in the birth of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Read More


Grant Teaff Coach of the Year Award

The Grant Teaff Coach of the Year Award is named after Grant Teaff, former Baylor coach, AFCA Executive Director and Trustee Emeritus of the FCA Board of Trustees. It recognizes a football coach who exemplifies Christian principles and involvement and support to FCA.

Read More


Jerry Kindall Character in Coaching Award

Named after Jerry Kindall, former major league player and retired head coach at the University of Arizona, the Character in Coaching Award is presented annually to the college or high school baseball coach who best exemplifies the Christian principles of Character, Integrity, Excellence, Teamwork and Service on and off the baseball field.

Read More


John Lotz “Barnabas” Award

Named after former University of Florida Head Coach John Lotz this award is presented by FCA to honor a basketball coach who best exhibits a commitment to Christ, integrity, encouragement to others and lives a balanced life. 

Read More


John Olver Character Award

The award, named in his honor, will be presented annually to a hockey coach who exemplifies the Christian principles of Service, Excellence, Dedication, and Love—both on and off the ice.

Read More


Kay Yow Heart of a Coach Award

This award was established in 2008 to honor Kay Yow, head women’s basketball coach at North Carolina State University. The purpose of the award is to recognize a women’s basketball coach who over the course of his or her career, has coached according to Biblical principles. A coach who has coached the heart of the athlete, as well as the body and mind.

Read More

Layton Shoemaker Award

Named after famed Messiah University soccer coach Layton Shoemaker, this award recognizes a soccer coach that honors God on and off the field and models a strong relationship with Christ to their players.

Read More


Peter Kohn Award

The Peter Kohn Award is a yearly award given to a member of the lacrosse community who best represents John 15:13: “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends,” and exemplifies the Christian principles of Character, Integrity, Excellence, and Teamwork on and off the lacrosse field.

Read More